6th International Conference on Collective Motion in Nuclei under Extreme Conditions (COMEX6)



Contribution ID: 25

Type: Oral

Study of the Jacobi shape transition in A ≈ 30 nuclei

The study of exotic Jacobi shapes in nuclei have attracted much attention in recent times [1-4]. The presence of a distinct low energy component around 10 MeV in the giant dipole resonance (GDR) spectrum, originating from Coriolis splitting in a highly deformed rotating nucleus, can be used as a signature of the Jacobi shape transition. The measurement of high energy γ rays from the decay of GDR in 31P nucleus and a self-conjugate α -cluster nucleus 28Si, populated at the same initial excitation energy and angular momenta, was carried out to study the Jacobi shape transition [5]. While the Jacobi shape transition is observed in 31P, the self-conjugate α -cluster nucleus 28Si exhibits a vastly different GDR lineshape characteristic of a prolate deformed nucleus. Based on these observations is 28Si [5] and 32S [6], it is proposed that the nuclear orbiting phenomenon exhibited by α -cluster nuclei hinders the Jacobi shape transition. Further, the present work suggests a possibility to investigate the nuclear orbiting phenomenon using high energy γ rays as a probe.

- [1] M. Kicihska-Habior et al., Phys. Lett. B. 308 (1993) 225.
- [2] D. R. Chakrabarty et al., Phys. Rev. C 85 (2012) 044619.
- [3] A. Maj et al., Nucl. Phys. A 731 (2004) 319.
- [4] Deepak Pandit et al., Phys. Rev. C 81 (2010) 061302R.
- [5] Balaram dey et al., Phys. Rev. C. 97, 014317 (2018).
- [6] Deepak Pandit et al., Phys. Rev. C 95 (2017) 034301.

Co-authors: Dr GHOSH, C (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research); Dr PANDIT, Deepak (Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre); Dr RHINE KUMAR, AK (Cochin University of Science and Technology); Prof. NANAL, Vandana (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research); Dr PAL, S (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research); Prof. ARUMUGAM, P (Indian Institute of Technology); Ms DE, S (Bhabha Atomic Research Centre); Mr GUPTA, G (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research); Prof. MIRGULE, ET (Bhabha Atomic Research Centre); Dr PAL, Surajit (Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre); Dr ROUT, P C (Bhabha Atomic Research Centre); Dr DEY, Balaram (Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics)

Presenters: Prof. NANAL, Vandana (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research); Dr DEY, Balaram (Saha Insitute of Nuclear Physics)

Track Classification: Track A